Our team Berthoud Media GmbH was founded in 2012 and is a family business.

We document interesting and exciting stories from all over the world in sound and vision. We produce documentaries from concept to finished film, mostly our own projects, but also commissioned by Swiss Television, NZZ Format or private companies. We work on location in teams of two with our own equipment, Annette Frei Berthoud as author and director and Selim Berthoud as cameraman. Annette Frei Berthoud is in charge of editing and dubbing with long-time colleagues. Jean-Michel Berthoud takes care of translations and correct texts. Alessio Lottero writes the music for our films.

Annette-berthoud

Annette Frei Berthoud

Historian, journalist, author, director and film producer

She studied history and ethnology at the University of Zurich. Her dissertation "Red Patriarchs" was the first of several books and studies on the history of Swiss women. As an ethnologist, she did research in Crete, where she lived in a pastoral family. Years later she returned to the island to make a film about the origins of matriarchy. Curiosity and interest in people, stories and cultures led her to make a documentary film. Around a hundred films for NZZ Format, the television programme of the "Neue Zürcher Zeitung", but also for Swiss television, are the result of a passion that took her all over the world and continues to drive her even after many years

selim-berthoud

Selim Berthoud

Cameraman

He became interested in film and photography at an early age and was assistant to his uncle, the late photographer Mike Frei. He studied photography at the F+F Schule für Gestaltung in Zurich, but then decided to focus on the moving image. In a one-year internship at the film production company TVision in Basel, he got to know all facets of the work of a television crew. As a cameraman at Tele Basel and for the TV production company kameramann.ch he became an all-rounder, with the live camera on his shoulder at major events, as a studio cameraman at talk shows, as a news reporter, with mobile direct feeds and as a live cameraman at private company events. Since 2014 he has been working as a cameraman for the documentaries of Berthoud Media.

Alessio

Alessio Lottero

Musician and composer from Genoa, Italy

He graduated from the Accademia di Musica Moderna Lizard in Fiesole near Florence in electric rock-blues guitar and harmony of modern music. His passion for cinema and historical soundtracks led him to compose film music. He worked for two years in recording studios and for commercial promotion in New York City. In 2015 he returned to Europe and after a period in Berlin, where he composed music for American short films, he began working with local producers in Zurich. Since May 2017 he has been managing the soundtrack and film music laboratory Rotornoise Soundtrack together with Vanni Fiorelli. Today he lives in Tuscany and produces music for commercials, TV documentaries, short and feature films.

jean-michel-berthoud

Jean-Michel Berthoud

Journalist, editor, presenter and translator

Before his media career he was a bookseller. His passion for writing texts led him to professional journalism as a young trainee at the Swiss dispatch agency SDA. After an excursion into the alternative media world and experience as a press officer for NGOs, he began his career at SRG. He started out as a journalist and presenter at Swiss Radio International (SRI), for which he produced numerous reports after the fall of the apartheid regime in South Africa in 1994, including an interview with Nelson Mandela. After SRI had developed into the 10-language internet platform Swissinfo, he became an online media performer and simultaneously a translator from English, French and Italian into German.

Annette-berthoud

Annette Frei Berthoud

Autorin, Regisseurin

jean-michel-berthoud

Jean-Michel Berthoud

Journalist, Übersetzer

Alessio

Alessio Lottero

Gitarrist, Komponist

Our philosophy

Our films tell stories. We deal with topics from culture and history, society and science, nature and enjoyment. We show a topic with all its facets and the historical and cultural backgrounds and illuminate it from different angles. Our films are characterised by our commitment. We let people have their say who achieve great things or work in silence, who develop creative ideas and are passionate about something. 

We do not shy away from sensitive topics, but we always want to show the positive, the innovative and the beauties of this world. The creation process of a documentary film is complex and demands a high degree of creativity. We do not simply string facts together, but weave the stories together and create suspense with a dramaturgy familiar from feature films.

Team_Amalfi-s
en_GB

Unser Team Berthoud Media GmbH wurde 2012 gegründet und ist ein Familienunternehmen.

Wir dokumentieren in Bild und Ton interessante und spannende Geschichten aus aller Welt. Wir produzieren Dokumentarfilme vom Konzept bis zum fertigen Film, mehrheitlich eigene Projekte, aber auch im Auftrag für das Schweizer Fernsehen, NZZ Format oder Private. Wir arbeiten vor Ort im Zweierteam mit eigenem Equipment, Annette Frei Berthoud als Autorin und Regisseurin und Selim Berthoud als Kameramann. Annette Frei Berthoud betreut Schnitt und Vertonung mit langjährigen Kolleginnen und Kollegen. Jean-Michel Berthoud sorgt für Übersetzungen und korrekte Texte. Alessio Lottero schreibt unseren Filmen die Musik auf den Leib.

Annette-berthoud

Annette Frei Berthoud

Historikerin, Journalistin, Buchautorin, Regisseurin und Filmproduzentin

Sie studierte Geschichte und Ethnologie an der Universität Zürich. Ihre Dissertation «Rote Patriarchen» war das erste von mehreren Büchern und Studien zur Geschichte der Schweizer Frauen. Als Ethnologin forschte sie in Kreta, wo sie in einer Hirtenfamilie lebte. Jahre später kehrte sie zurück auf die Insel, um einen Film über die Ursprünge des Matriarchats zu drehen. Neugierde und Interesse an Menschen, Geschichten und Kulturen führte sie zum Dokumentarfilm. Rund hundert Filme für NZZ Format, das Fernsehprogramm der “Neuen Zürcher Zeitung“, aber auch für das Schweizer Fernsehen sind das Resultat einer Leidenschaft, die sie in alle Welt führte und sie auch nach vielen Jahren antreibt.

selim-berthoud

Selim Berthoud

Kameramann

Er interessierte sich schon früh für Film und Fotografie und war Assistent seines Onkels, des verstorbenen Fotografen Mike Frei. An der F+F Schule für Gestaltung in Zürich studierte er Fotografie, entschied sich dann aber für das bewegte Bild. In einem einjährigen Stage bei der Filmproduktionsfirma TVision in Basel lernte er alle Facetten der Arbeit eines Fernsehteams kennen. Als Kameramann bei Tele Basel und für die TV-Produktionsfirma kameramann.ch wurde er zum Allrounder, mit der Live-Kamera auf der Schulter an Grossereignissen, als Studiokameramann bei Talk-Shows, als Reporter für News, mit mobilen Direktschaltungen und als Live-Kameramann an privaten Firmen-Events. Seit 2014 gestaltet er als Kameramann die Dokumentarfilme von Berthoud Media.

Alessio

Alessio Lottero

Musiker und Komponist aus Genua, Italien

Er promovierte an der Accademia di Musica Moderna Lizard in Fiesole bei Florenz in elektrischer Rock-Blues-Gitarre und Harmonie der modernen Musik. Seine Leidenschaft für das Kino und historische Soundtracks führte ihn zum Komponieren von Filmmusik. Er arbeitete zwei Jahre in Aufnahmestudios und für kommerzielle Promotionen in New York City. 2015 kehrte er nach Europa zurück, und nach einer Zeit in Berlin, wo er Musik für amerikanische Kurzfilme komponierte, begann er in Zürich mit lokalen Produzenten zusammenzuarbeiten. Seit Mai 2017 leitet er zusammen mit Vanni Fiorelli das Soundtrack- und Filmmusiklabor Rotornoise Soundtrack. Heute lebt er in der Toskana und produziert Musik für Werbespots, TV-Dokumentarfilme, Kurz- und Langfilme.

jean-michel-berthoud

Jean-Michel Berthoud

Journalist, Redaktor, Moderator und Übersetzer

Vor seiner Medienkarriere war er Buchhändler. Seine Lust am Verfassen von Texten führte ihn als jungen Stagiaire bei der Schweizerischen Depeschenagentur SDA zum professionellen Journalismus. Nach einem Ausflug in die alternative Medienwelt und Erfahrungen als Pressechef bei NGOs begann er seine Karriere bei der SRG. Zuerst als Journalist und Moderator beim Auslandsender Schweizer Radio International (SRI), für den er nach dem Fall des Apartheidregimes in Südafrika 1994 zahlreiche Reportagen produzierte, u.a. ein Gespräch mit Nelson Mandela. Nach der Entwicklung von SRI zur 10-sprachigen Internetplattform Swissinfo wurde er Online-Mediaperformer und gleichzeitig Übersetzer aus dem Englischen, Französischen und Italienischen ins Deutsche.

Annette-berthoud

Annette Frei Berthoud

Autorin, Regisseurin

jean-michel-berthoud

Jean-Michel Berthoud

Journalist, Übersetzer

Alessio

Alessio Lottero

Gitarrist, Komponist

Unsere Philosophie

Unsere Filme erzählen Geschichten. Wir befassen uns mit Themen aus Kultur und Geschichte, Gesellschaft und Wissenschaft, Natur und Genuss. Wir zeigen ein Thema mit all seinen Facetten und den geschichtlichen und kulturellen Hintergründen und beleuchten es von verschiedenen Seiten. Unsere Filme sind geprägt von unserem Engagement. Wir lassen Menschen zu Wort kommen, die Grosses leisten oder im Stillen wirken, die kreative Ideen entwickeln und sich mit Leidenschaft für etwas einsetzen. 

Wir scheuen keine Tabuthemen, wollen aber immer auch das Positive, das Innovative und die Schönheiten dieser Welt zeigen. Der Entstehungsprozess eines Dokumentarfilms ist komplex und fordert hohe Kreativität. Wir reihen nicht einfach Fakten aneinander, sondern verweben die Geschichten und erzeugen Spannung mit einer Dramaturgie, die man vom Spielfilm kennt.

Team_Amalfi-s
de_CH